” … and thank you for asking”

I always know when a dreaded call centre agent is trying to get hold of me to sell me something I don’t need. There are all the familiar tell-tale signs. The fact that the number that comes up on your phone is from an unknown source. The introduction: “Hi Mr Lourens. My name is Tashia and I’m calling from Nedbank …”.

But then there is the classic tell-tale sign. The one that comes after introductions.

They ask you how you are. You say that you are fine. You politely ask them how they are. Guess, what. They are also fine. And then it comes: “… and thank you for asking”.

Really? Why thank me for asking? It’s just the polite thing to do.

 

Leave a Reply

