The Restless Supermarket

I’ve just finished The Restless Supermarket by Ivan Vladisavić which was a great read. The main character is a real misanthrope called Aubrey Tearle who reminds me so much of myself. He is a retired proof-reader of telephone directories struggling to come to terms with the changing face of South Africa. The time is 1993.

The writing is good. At times tender and at others hysterically funny, it will resonate with most people who lived through the transition to democracy.

I’m most excited now about my next couple of reads. I have to decide on something. I’m eyeing a biography of Thomas Mann by Anthony Heilbut or, of course, The Magic Mountain by the great Mann himself. Then there are a couple of early Gordimers that I really feel I should read, not to mention some more recent novels by Michiel Heyns.

Leave a Reply

